5K Run test, Breaking 40 VDOT Threshold.

Posted: April 26, 2012 in Running, Syracuse Ironman 70.3, Training, Triathlons
Tags: , , , ,

Whoo Hoo again! Just finished a 5K run VDOT test. During lunch, I went over to the Homer High School track and pounded out 12 laps, plus the 0.1 mile. Windy today, so half of the track was fast, and the other half made up for it. Ran my fastest 5K since my mid thirties.

Mile splits- 7:46 / 7:50 /7:46 / (0.1mile) 0:40 for a 24:02 Total time @7:45/mile pace. Pushed my VDOT from 38 to 40.1

My new training paces for half marathon, marathon, and long runs just got more challenging ūüôā

The differences and gains in fitness since joining Team Endurance Nation back in early February have been huge. My initial VDOT was at 33 with a 5K time of 28:13. Huge 4 minute+ drop in 5K times in just over 12 weeks.

I will see further gains as the weight comes off, and the training continues. The challenge will be to have similar gains in bike and swim times. I have seen improvements, but the my running fitness has seen the biggest improvements.

Leave a Reply

