CNY Club Duathlon @ Jamesville

Posted: May 24, 2012 in cycling, Running, Syracuse Ironman 70.3, Training, Triathlons
Tags: , , ,

I took a deviation from my training plan to attend a CNY triathlon club’s duathlon series training event held @ Jamesville park. I did this for a number of reasons.

  • Although only a short bike and run compared to the 70.3 course, it is still on a portion of the Syracuse course.
  • I needed a break from the solo training runs and rides, good time to meet some of the club members
  • Another chance to practice bike to run transition
  • Test a little speed on legs

The event is low key, everybody times themselves. Entirely ran by club volunteers. I especially liked having bike racks as one would expect to see in a race. Good race simulation, and I liked it for the fact I could dial in paces,and work things through with race support, and plenty of fellow triathletes around me.

Mentally, this was a good break for me, as I had been nursing the IT band problem in my right leg for what seemed like too many weeks, and I was itching to see how a little speed would work out. Having a decent long run last week was encouraging.

The event was set up as a 1.7 mile run/10 mile bike/1.7 or 3.2 mile run. First run leg went well, as I was all fueled up ,and legs felt better than good. 8:14 to 8:25 pacing really felt easy, so much that I wanted to go faster. I decided to be happy with turning up the gas more than I had been able to in recent weeks, and did not want to risk it.

Transition to the bike went smooth,and was all good until I slipped my chain going up the first hill. Minor diversion,and back on course quick enough. I got dialed in, and stayed in the aerobars nearly all of the 10 miles.  Cadence stayed high,and I felt fluid churning the pedals. Using Endurance Nation bike protocols, I stayed seated or aero while keeping a smooth pedal stroke. As predicted, I would pass a number of people while keeping smooth on the bike. My bike split had me just under 19 mph average on a slightly hilly course. I was liking it.

The transition back to the run, was not a graceful as one might expect. Overall I switched out shoes and was running in under 90 seconds. The first 1/4 mile I experienced severe calf cramps (both legs). Stopped and massaged them for a minute, and the discomfort subsided. It was in the high 70’s and rather warm pushing out the second run. I settled in on a 9:00 minute pace, and did one loop.

It was a great change up to the training,and I got in a solid hard workout. Best news, my legs were ok. I probably need to drink a little more water on the bike with the heat. Easily addressed next time. Another two days of training, and then off to Cooperstown to do a sprint Tri on Sunday. looking forward to racing in scenic upstate New York leatherstocking region.

Hats off to the CNY Tri Club,and the volunteers that made for a very enjoyable evening!

Comments
  1. Great ?搂C I should undoubtedly pronounce, pleased with your web site. I had no trouble navigating via all the tab and related information turned into truly an easy task to do to access. I recently identified what I expected them to be before you know it at all. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to enjoy it for those who include forums something like that, web site design . a tones way for the customer to speak. Excellent job.

  2. Amazing! This can be a particular of the most advantageous blogs We have ever arrive across on this topic. Basically Great. I’m furthermore an expert on this topic so I can understand your effort.

  3. Val Tessler says:

    There are many posts obtainable next to the following, I do think taking at this time there personal reference could experience thought we would get this area or even content truly beneficial. Practical target phrase this post is bad. Just I’ve got to articulate the belief that information furnished right here had been exceptional, basically so that it will be more around complete, supporting to help ex- information and facts will get ended up actually beneficial. Your points you could have handled here’s significant, hence I am going to spot the majority of the information and facts right here to develop this specific truly best for fully the newbie’s listed here. Many thanks for this review. In fact handy!

Leave a Reply

