Keuka Lake Tri- All good, no bad, some ugly

Posted: June 3, 2012 in cycling, Running, Syracuse Ironman 70.3, Training, Triathlons
Tags: , , ,

Keuka Lake Tri- All good, no bad, some ugly

First off, kudos to everyone that helped put the race on. Great course, very scenic ,and I find it easy to do the events. Everyone does their job/function very well!

This particular race is the last multi event I’ll be doing before Ironman Syracuse. Much like Cooperstown, I would practice long course execution for pacing. Most important for me on this day was to regroup and recovery from buggering up the swim the week before. In short , this would be a moderately intense training day for me. The bike course has a couple of good climbs in it, and I would benefit from that. On the run, the first few miles would be held back on purpose 30 seconds a mile, and then take it up to race pace. Negative splitting the second half of the run is the goal. More important for long course racing, but I continue to train on that.

Staying at the college was great! Very basic, but when that alarm went off, and I was already just five minutes away from the transition area, I was good with it. It was a cool morning , around 55-57F. Water temp was at 67F. Radar indicated light rain turning heavy later in the morning. In my book, a “snarky” day. Transition was easy, volunteers and competitors were very friendly, and I enjoyed getting set up. I opted to have my new EN cycle jacket for the bike leg. If I got too warm I could unzip the sleeves. As it turned out, the jacket was a good choice.

Before heading out to the race on Saturday, I did a short workout at the pool , and worked solely on my start pacing, and a few form ideas that I thought would help. It did, and glad I got that done. The water was decent, although some small roller waves. Not all that bad. At the start, I carried out my plan, and kept in my head “smooth and steady= fast.” Close, I really did more like “slow & smooth= not real fast, but no panic.” I swam the entire 0.93 miles without stopping, without panic. I felt completely in control of my swim. Even when later swim waves came through, no problem. Although my swim is still slow, I enjoyed it as a good workout, and have a list of form items that I need to work on. So much better than blowing up the week before, and being in a panic. A step in the right direction.

Swim to bike transition went well, and I felt pretty good going out on the bike. I got settled in quickly and concentrated on keeping even, and a smooth pedal stroke. I felt very good approaching the hills. As I neared the top of the big hill in the course, my rear tire flatted. The tube change was all good until my CO2 chuck failed to work. A few minutes later, bike support came by , and I got it inflated with a hand pump. Off I went! A mile along the top of Skyline, I flatted again, same rear tire. I was done. Bike support came by 25 minutes later, and I got a ride back to transition. Not happy with a mechanical failure DNF. Glad it wasn’t my ‘A’ race. It was a big training day, so I shrugged it off. I do feel a little cheated in not enjoying the long downhill after doing the work to get up it.

Once back in transition, I turned in my chip, and then headed out on the run. Flat and fast! I love runs that follow along lakes and bodies of water. I carried out my plan for the run, and my legs felt the best they have felt in over a month. After two miles I started to pick up the pace, and the after the turn around I was running close to my long course pacing. Towards the end of my run, it started to rain, and rained heavier shortly after crossing the finish (unofficial ) I negative spilt the second half by nearly three minutes, very happy with that.

Later in the evening, I examined the two tubes and tire off of my rear disk. I found a 1/8” glass shard embedded still in the tire, barely poking through to the inside. I could have kept putting tubes in that tire til the cows came home. Would have been hard to find while on the course. First time I ever had a flat while in a race. Had to be my turn today. Yes, this would be the ugly part 🙂

Overall, a super day, overcame some big swim issues, got in some hill work on the bike, and executed a solid run. Three more weeks of training, and it will be the big day at Jamesville Beach!

Comments
  1. […] at the Keuka Lake Tri, but DNF’d due to mechanical issues.  You can read his race report on his blog.  He also said “Had another great race day EN style! Corrected some major issues with my […]

Leave a Reply

