Nagging problem- calf cramps

Posted: June 18, 2012 in Syracuse Ironman 70.3, Training, Triathlons
Tags: , , , ,

After the big swim on Saturday, I woke up to a tight and painful right calf Sunday morning. Here we are today, and it still is giving me problems. Never mind any pre-race jitters, self doubts, or any of that. I am worried. On and off again tight calves has dogged me in the later part of this long journey.

A big thank you to my wife Lee, who has been doing deep tissue massage daily on my legs, and recently twice a day to work out the knots. It does relieve the tightness in a big way. I do have to do more stretching and rolling on the foam roller. It looks like my taper week may be more rest and recovery than some light training.

Being so close to race day, it has me a little unnerved. In the grande scheme of things, it’s just a race, not likely to affect world peace, or solve any large social issues. In my narrowly focused perspective, it’s all about the 8-9 months of preparation with the last 20 weeks of a very specific and dedicated training program. It’s also about returning to the sport, regaining fitness, health, and weight loss.  As I get my head right, I have this entire journey to look back on, and review what I have gained and learned from the effort.

With any luck, the calf issue will subside in a day or two,and I can go back to my preparations for race day.

5 days, 10 hours and 51 minutes until go time @ Ironman Syracuse. Not that I am counting  🙂

Comments
  1. Mark says:

    Have you tried Kinesio Tape? I get cramps/pain on my anterior tibialis whenever I run hard, and recently tried this out in a race…..worked very well. Something to consider if you are desperate! Not very expensive at all at Fleet Feet. Videos online will tell you how to apply it to relieve some of the cramping issues.

    Good luck on sunday!

  2. Maura says:

    I too am training for the Ironman 70.3 Syracuse and I have been dealing with calf cramps. I have been having them at night while I sleep and also twice on Saturday while I was swimming in the open water. I have been trying to stay hydrated, I have been massaging my calves and trying to increase my potassium and magnesium hoping that it will all help. I understand how you feel … all these nerves are going on and now I am hoping I don’t get a cramp during the swim on Sunday!! Good Luck!!

  3. Lynn Cunningham says:

    umm…call your doctor!

Leave a Reply

