First run and bike post Syracuse

Posted: July 2, 2012 in cycling, Running, Syracuse Ironman 70.3, Training, weimeraners
Tags: , , ,

I took the advice of my coaches and a bunch of smart triathlon peeps, doing light stretching, and pro-like resting. I found that I can do that very well. By the end of the week, I was itching to get back at it. Most of the weekend was spent getting back on to tackling to-do lists around the homestead.

Sunday evening I switched into my running gear and gathered up our two weimeraners Jake & Abby. It would be a short easy run, that happens to be Jake’s & Abby’s favorite route. A two+ miler that goes down hill the 2nd mile, and finish’s at Poole’s Diner which also sells soft ice cream during summer hours. They just happen to serve a doggie dish treat, which our dogs practically inhale. Pretty good stuff for us humans as well.

Our dogs just about turn themselves inside out when I gear up for a run. They absolutely love to go. Of course my running pace is little more than a trot for weimeraners. They can run flat out at impressive speeds if properly motivated. Lots of fun to watch them hunt in the turkey woods.

The run went very well, and my legs needed to get out, stretch, and do a little work. The evening had cooled down some, and was much better than running in the hot midday sun. The first 1/2 mile is an uphill grade and I went out an easy 9:30-9:45 pace. The trip back dropped to 8:30 and I held it there the next mile as Abby did not want to go any faster. Jake would go as fast as I could muster if I let him. At the bottom of the hill, I crossed East River Road, and then Abby picked it up. They both knew that once I cross that road, we stop at the special place. 8:10-8:15 the last 1/4 mile. Lee would drive the truck down, and would drive back up after enjoying our treat for the evening. Great run, spoiled the dogs, and a nice way to finish out the weekend. Legs felt really good,and looking forward to running the Boilermaker next Sunday.

This morning, I rode into work on the mountain bike. Seemed a little weird after the long hours of racing and training on the tri bike. Very nice ride in today. Short route, roughly 9 miles. I tackled the hill on Lighthouse road (1/2 mile, 150ft climb) and went up it with ease as compared to much earlier in the season. Average 19mph going to work, and it was an enjoyable workout. I’ll ride home after work, and likely work the hill up to our driveway (3/4 mile, 375ft climb) .

Glad to be getting back to training!

Comments
  1. Carrie says:

    I’m running the Boilermaker, too! See you there!

Leave a Reply

