Where’s the love with the M-dot 70.3 tattoo……. continued

Posted: July 25, 2012 in Ironman Lake Placid, MDot, Syracuse Ironman 70.3, tattoo, Triathlons
Tags: , , , ,

30 days have past since crossing the finish line at Ironman Syracuse. Sometimes when you plan a big goal, and get there, or complete it, it becomes anti-climatic, or so-so-what’s next. Not the case with completing Ironman Syracuse. It was as epic, inspiring, and as humbling as I thought it would be. It was a day that culminated all the planning, training , and emotional highs and lows that I will treasure as a life event.

I had been thinking on commemorating the day with a calf tattoo. I held back running off in a hurry to get it done to see if my perspective would change, or shift after the endorphins finally wore off. Signing up for Ironman Lake Placid has not changed my view. I would say that completing Syracuse is a huge stepping stone to the big dance. Had I not complete it, or had a bad experience, I would not likely step up to the 140.6 mile distance. Most certainly I will commemorate that event if it is anything at all like what I experienced at Ironman Syracuse. Most likely yes, and all the more epic. At least twice, right? For all the reasons that I have captured in prior blog posts, it represents much more than a race or single event. It not only marks a return to something that I love, it also represents a pivotal point in my life that I choose to change the outcome, health, and well-being for the 3rd quarter of my life as I head towards retirement years.

Tonight will start the tattoo project, and I’ll post pics soon enough. I won’t reveal what it will be as of yet, but it will have many elements in it that I hope will come together to make for a great skin art piece. More yet to come.

Leave a Reply

