Dog days of summer, pushing past post recovery on to the next 51 weeks

Posted: August 6, 2012 in Ironman Lake Placid, Running, Training, Triathlons
Tags: , , , , ,

Dog days of summer are here for sure! Has been a hot one, and great weather to be out doing what you love to do.  Five weeks have past since my big ‘A’ race @ Ironman Syracuse.  Still feeling it a little, but not at all like I remember after doing Firmman Half Ironman back in 1994. Much better recovery this time around. Today at lunch I went out for a 4-5 mile run with a couple of mile repeats. I hacked my marathon hack  in my training plan to accommodate a catered half marathon training run @ Deryuter Tromptown races this Thursday. I signed up for the early start as I planned to run something between racing pace and my long run pace, which may go out past two hours. I was suppose to run yesterday, and had stomach issues that were cause to adapt and reschedule.

Very stoked with the mile repeats at lunch. Moderate weather in comparison to last few weeks. 68F at noon today, some overcast, and light wind.I decide to see what I crank out at a slightly lower gear with a 160bpm to 165bpm heart rate. First repeat came in at 8:47 with my heart rate hovering around 162bpm. Walked a 100 yards to drop heart back down, recovery pace for the remainder of the next mile. For the 2nd mile repeat, I decided to push it to another gear, but not all out like I would for a Vdot test. I stayed close to 172bpm until the last quarter mile,and then it jumped to 177bpm. Clocked a 7:55, and was very happy to inch closer to mile repeat pacing that I saw this spring. Starting to get some snap back in the legs.

This Thursday at Tromptown will be about smooth execution,and maybe a little push. The course is scenic as it travels clock wise around the reservoir and back in to town. It is an evening run, and will be subjected to the heat and humidity of the day. Predictions are for a high of 81F so far. I will ease into the first three miles at a 10ish per mile pace, and then drop it down if I feel it in the legs. If not, I will enjoy the ride at a long run pace, maybe with a few surges or mile repeats to break up the distance.

I am at a good head space relative to 51 weeks to go for Ironman Lake Placid. Loosely following a EN (Endurance Nation) get fast plan with a marathon hack for NYC marathon in November.  A short break, and then out season training, a little time of single sport focus (have to decide on bike or swim), and then the major decision of doing a period of get fast training with a 12 week build to Lake Placid or going straight to a 20 week build. I have plenty of time before I need to decide. Everything I do now can add or detract to Lake Placid. The pressure is off, and I can focus on just building fitness, some speed, and enjoy the long runs leading to NYC marathon. Looking very forward to checking off that bucket list item.

In a few weeks I will toe the line at the Turning Stone half marathon,and then the Little York Sprint Tri in September for the last triathlon of my season. As it turns out, I will also revisit Festival of Races 5K on 9/30. I volunteered as a technical Coordinator for Dave Oja for the inaugural race, and several years after. Hard to believe 30 years have past. Just happens to be the day before fall turkey season, so no conflict. Opening day of fall turkey season is akin to a national holiday at our house.

Other than Endurance Nation training camp at Lake Placid next Jun, no solid event plans for winter /spring 2013. Ironman Syracuse is most certainly being thought of, maybe as part of a relay team or as a volunteer. We’ll see on that. The importance of Ironman Lake Placid will dictate what events I may consider depending on whether they complement or conflict with the training goals/schedule, to-do’s at home, family events, and my budget.

Comments
  1. Howdy very nice web site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds also?I’m glad to search out numerous helpful info here within the submit, we need work out more techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

