Tromptown 13.1

Posted: August 11, 2012 in Core Diet, Running, Training
Tags: , , ,

One of the fun things I enjoy while being in “come back” mode, is the nostalgic return to events I participated in many moons ago. This past Thursday evening I ran in the 35th annual Tromptown half marathon in Deruyter, NY.

Aside from training tri’s and fun runs that the local running/tri clubs put on, this rural gem is one of the very few midweek evening events in Central NY. A low key race held in a very scenic area that Is ideal for a half marathon. This is a no frills race that gives you a certified course, beautiful scenery, plenty of water stops, and great volunteer support. You can opt to purchase a shirt or race patch, which is great for those of us who have a ton of race shirts.

Over the years I have done the 5k and 10k offerings as well. The 5k gives you a hill mid way that requires your attention. Once you crest the hill, you are rewarded with a nice downhill and a flat run, straight to the finish. The 10k is no longer offered, and was discontinued many years ago. I did like the 10k course…….

The half marathon course is a favorite. A fly by loop around the town takes you past the first mile, then out to the countryside by mile 2. You get a small hill as you head up to West Lake Road. After that, you get flats and small rollers as you travel around the Deruyter Reservoir. No big hills or long steep downhills to pound your knees.

Great course profile that switches up your legs over the long haul. The last 5k is mostly flat with an uphill turn onto Route 13. The last mile is straight and fast to the last turn to the finish. The finish line is set up in front of the fireman’s field days which has been integral part of the race for many years.

I signed up for this event for several reasons:

Favorite event/course profile
Midweek evening run, not taking up another Saturday or Sunday
Fits into my schedule for a long training run.

I would run this for training, not race it (insert loose definition). I do like the opportunity to have a catered long run, and enjoy the company of other runners. I pushed out the scheduling of my usual long run on Sunday, which was ok. Being that this would be a minor hack to an already modified short course (tri) plan with a marathon hack. In short, I hacked a hack. All of this is in route to NYC marathon this fall, and a prelude to ironman training for Lake Placid next July.

The race would be under warm and humid conditions (mid 70’s). Which was a reprieve from mid 80’s mid-day. I did try a modified fueling to correct cramping issues I had at ironman Syracuse. I added lava salts to the bike bottle of Roctane to boost my sodium intake. Between powerbars and my liquid fuel, I loaded up 1200mg of sodium. For two hours plus in moderate temps, it worked out well. No muscle spasms, or cramps. I was a little crusty when I finished 🙂

I really enjoyed this as a training run! Nice to see some of my running pals, and make some new ones on the course. I ran the entire race with great company and conversation. The miles flew by, even at my slow training pace. Walked most of the water stops for 30-40 steps. That kept my calves from tightening up.

All in all I enjoyed it from start to finish. My only issue was with only having watermelon & water at the finish. My issue really is my own as I get terrible headaches from watermelon (even as a child). I do like watermelon, but it doesn’t like me. Even so, I could head into the field days to satisfy my food choices. Beer comes to mind 🙂

If you haven’t ran this before, I highly recommend it!

20120811-132136.jpg

Comments
  1. Carrie says:

    Glad to hear you enjoyed the race! The course was scenic, and the rolling hills weren’t too difficult. I wish I ran with a pack–that would’ve made all 13.1 miles go by faster! 🙂

    • mookyj says:

      Thanks! Agree on the pack thing. So enjoyable running at a pace you can converse in, and just shoot the breeze with a fellow runner. The miles just go by so much faster mentally

Leave a Reply

