2012 Fall Season

Posted: September 12, 2012 in Running, Syracuse Ironman 70.3, Training
Tags: , ,

As much as I tell myself, that I am slowing down, and focusing on my priorities, my list of things to do never seems to end. This fall season is no exception. All good stuff, so I can live with it.

Next ‘A’ race is NYC marathon. A bucket list item, with a goal to finish and look good doing it. No set time goal. This will be my tenth marathon. The nine prior marathons were all ran in the nineties. My lifetime PR still remains @ 3:26:28 that I ran in the 1994 Toronto marathon. Most of my times are between that and 3:45. Back to 2012, my prediction on a fast course would be 4:15 with my current weight and fitness. Either way, I will enjoy the ride, and will have a great experience. Glad to be back at it.

Training so far has been subdued compared to the Syracuse Ironman ramp up. No injuries, I feel decent, just a bit slower than this spring. Currently using Endurance Nation’s short course plan with a marathon hack. I like this as historically I could never tolerate high run mileage. With this approach I can still improve my fitness without pounding my legs. Long runs are going well. I have several half marathons done in August, and posted a 16 miler last weekend. All good! Still have 18, 20 , and 22 mile long runs to put in the done column in route to running in the big city.

This weekend is the Little York Sprint Tri. A fun event, no goals other than some quality training time. One last multisport event to end the season. I may push a little, but my focus is the next long run. End of the month, I return to Festival of Races 5K. Been many moons since I ran that one. I volunteered as a technical coordinator and help put on the inaugural event and a few subsequent races after that. This year it it the day before fall turkey season, so no moral conflict at my house.

Once we get past the New York Marathon, then it will be a planned and focused effort for 2013 Ironman Lake Placid. I’ll have plenty to blog about that subject at a later time.

Still up in the air about 2013 Syracuse Ironman 70.3 as to do it as a team or volunteer. Obviously I feel a real connection and fondness for the event. I have ruled out doing it as a solo “A’ or ‘B’ race as it is only 5 weeks from Lake Placid. The rational for is better explained at Endurance Nation: http://www.endurancenation.us/blog/training/racing-a-half-ironman-before-a-full-ironman/

If I was an elite level athlete, maybe I could look at it differently as a ‘B’ race. No worries for me on that 🙂

I am feeling pretty good on the Core Diet, great recipes. Also gathering up some of the recipes that fellow bloggers are posting. The pictures are yummy. No weight loss yet, actually up 6 lbs from Ironman Syracuse. Still getting use to the diet, and figuring out what works for me. Dialing down calories, and no doubt I’ll get this figured out.

I have some thoughts for upcoming blogs and will post soon. Hope that you all have a great fall season!

Comments
  1. Carrie says:

    Good luck at your tri next weekend! I’m getting in one more as well; I don’t want to face the music and admit the season is almost over. 😦

Leave a Reply

