Mid Winter Progress -24 weeks to Ironman Lake Placid

Posted: February 7, 2013 in cycling, Ironman Lake Placid, Running, Syracuse Ironman 70.3, Triathlons
Tags: , , , , ,

With all the things mentioned in recent blog posts, it continues on as much of a wild ride as predicted. With the new career focus of starting a tech company, the customary long hours and no or few days off are the norm. As one might expect, any firm schedule is a suggestion at best. Aside from my brain being over saturated, I still have the little task item of preparing for a long day in July. Whether I am ready or not, 140.6 miles  will be waiting, leave your excuses at the beach. Given all the circumstances, crossing the finish at Ironman Lake Placid will certainly be a significant life event. No doubt, it is a monumental experience for all those who take on the Ironman challenge.

One side benefit to be a singular team of me, myself, and I is that I can slip away to do that two hour workout when I have a break in the day, or do it on the fly. Working long hours, the mental break is most welcomed. The stress relief is a huge bonus.

Workouts are progressing slowly. I am beginning to complete about 70-80% of them as detailed in my EN Out Season plan. Weight is slowly dropping, and hope to be where I was last year (lightest weight) by late March. That all sounds good except I hope to lose much more before July. Balancing a diet, and increasing volume workouts in April is something I need to make happen.  I found a great deal on a like-new Quarq power meter for my tri bike a week ago.  Got it installed and working, no problems. Next I’ll need to time trial test and set a baseline while I learn this training with power business.

Recently got a bike fit with Jamie Campbell at Bike Loft  in North Syracuse. Using protocol from Specialized, it is a intensive in depth assessment of your joint alignments, range of motion, etc.,  before they even begin to look at bike sizing and fitting. My wife is a director of rehab at a skilled nursing facility, and I would draw similarity’s to what her physical therapists would look at  in the assessments of patients. Jamie was very thorough. When it was all said and done, I had a better position, and way more comfortable. My bike fit  that I had prior was not too far off, a few minor tweaks, a better fitting seat for my big butt, and I left as a happy camper. I have a few hours on the test seat, and will order that today. Highly recommended. We are fortunate to have a bunch of great bike shops in the CNY area. I enjoy heading back to the Bike loft, as my experience with them goes all the way back to when I was a young boy. This goes back to when Lance’s parents where running it. aside from that, it is a great shop,and I always get great service there.

As promised, I started swim lessons with coach Bill Houser at the  Cazenovia College pool. first night was pretty good. I liked working out as a group. It encourages one to keep at it rather than slack off. We ran warm up drills, and some baseline stuff. At the end we were all video taped to analyse what we are doing right/wrong or need to improve. My video should be a hoot. I’m bracing for the some good, some bad, and likely some very ugly. With the grace of God, and what help that coach can give me, I can reduce the last two items, and swim reasonably sorta slow as opposed to very slow. I am told that I can take a 2 hour swim, and bring it down to a 1:40-1:45 swim with fixing basic technique issues. That will certainly work for me.

My laundry list of things to get done or put in place are being checked off one by one. Despite the hectic times, there is progress, and very thankful for that.

Leave a Reply

